Gift Idea (Customized Lettering)

Recently, I had reason to make some gifts for dear friends I’ve met in my building.  I didn’t want something store bought and well, I’m an art teacher so that’s probably pretty lame if it is.  But I’ll be honest, while I do my own art, I’m not the most patient about crafting. I didn’t want it to be anything big, just something small that would show my appreciation and care for them.

I couldn’t think of anything, forever…so I slept on it.  Conveniently I had a dream about when I was a child.  It all stemmed around this sweatshirt my mother owned, it spelled “Hillis Elementary” using cartoon people bent to make the letters.  In words, it sounds kind of ridiculous but if you saw the sweatshirt (Lord knows where it is), you would appreciate it’s cuteness…in fact, I’m sure some of you can relate to seeing similar font.

So I woke up the next morning with some bright ideas…I would make them a piece of art, emphasizing the first letter of their last name and instead of little cartoon people, I would illustrate things that simply reminded me of them on a day to day basis.  A lot of the pieces are inside jokes…so I can’t say much but for the most part, you’ll see that some of it is very teacher oriented.

First, of course, I sketched out the lettering using different ideas and finalized the design, then using some pretty amazing Copic Sketch Markers, I blended and colored the illustration in, outlining it in some Manga comic markers.  I framed it using very simple 4×6 frames.

I don’t know, I just think they’re cute.  I mean, of course, I’m more impressed with them than I expected and I really think they are a nice hybrid of crafty and artsy.  Either way, they are simple, personal and they only took a few hours over the weekend to put together.  So if you’re ever in need of an idea for a simple gift, try it out.  And if you don’t want to do it yourself, I really enjoyed it, so shoot me a message!

2 responses to “Gift Idea (Customized Lettering)

Leave a Reply

