Paint Samples in the Art Room

I love home improvement stores for one big reason (amongst a lot of little reasons).  The biggest being paint samples! Wonderful, colorful, already ready paint samples! There are hundreds of things you can do and you can look just about anywhere to find crafts and ideas to use paint chips for. Bookmarks, art, framing, coasters, earrings, etc…etc…etc!  My favorite reasons, of course, to use paint chips are in my own class room.

Dutch Boy has teamed up with Crayola and has Crayola Dutch Boy paint! Each paint sample matches Crayola crayons and even better, they are in the shape of a crayon tip so the craftiness of making them so is already taken care of.  Paint chips have graduated from samples to swatches, to themes.  You can get tinted paint chips, booklets of paint chips, and themes like “festive” which have over 10 colors that would work together.  Because of this, the possibilities of how to use them in the art room are endless.

Typically, I turn them into posters; I especially like the crayola crayons on the color wheel. I also make instructional keys that help students understand color better, like my tints and tones poster – something that’s helpful during our 7th grade Organic Sculpture unit.  Furthermore, this really helps with students who are colorblind.  I have one student in particular who will use a set of paint chips, labeled, as their color references so that when they are doing projects they can match paint (etc) to the chips and know better which colors s/he is using even if he struggles separating some of the concepts.  I also use them for any other student who is mixing paint or colors and trying to find another color -w hile the paint chips do not supply a mixing key, the students have chips to play off and gather the information needed to see where to go.  A physical visual can always be a helpful resource when pulling from  memory.

My boyfriend averts his eyes whenever we find ourselves in Lowes, Menards, or a paint-chip bearing location.  He says I’m crazy and if every paint chip was even $0.50, I’d be in debt. Probably, but no one seems to stop me and I’ve even spoken to employees who encourage it.  So now I encourage you to do the same!

One response to “Paint Samples in the Art Room

  1. Pingback: What Three Years of Change Looks Like and the Importance of a ‘Clean Slate’ | Art Class With LMJ·

Leave a Reply

