Consistency in a Rubric

I love rubrics.  I strongly believe that any well run project driven classroom includes good rubrics.  Something I’ve learned throughout college and my teaching experience has been that consistency can be very helpful in specific situations.  After some constant editing of course, O.C.D. moments I finally settled on a rubric that I have found works exceptionally well in my classroom and the concept could help others.

The rubric concentrates on five areas; “skill growth”, “creativity/originality”, “perseverance/performance product”, “cooperation and collaboration”, “craftsmanship and consistency”.  The rubric looks like same for all projects and the last four categories (all except “skill growth”) stay consistent and use the same language always.  The only category that changes is “skill growth” for the obvious reason that each project has a different set of skills, etc.

As you can see in the photograph, the students have highlighted different areas in the rubric – these are the student goals; what they have highlighted is where they feel confident they will end up.  They do this once they understand what they are creating but before they start. More often than not this pushes them beyond those goals when they are working…and if not, they usually at least meet their goals.

In my classroom my students participate in grading.  They supply information about where they think they landed on the rubric, they have a peer supply their honest, constructive, and objective opinion, and finally I share my thoughts.  The lined portion is an “artist statement” where they describe what they were thinking, what they learned, etc, etc, etc.  Now you might think this student grading is unproductive but on the contrary I’ve learned that with clearly stated expectations and the assurance that everyone involved is held accountable for their opinion, students stay honest.  In all reality, they’re often “too” hard themselves.

There is also a small box in the bottom left that lists state standards for the administrators that might be looking over my shoulder.

The reason I love, love, love this rubric is because it encompasses everything that makes an assessment effective.  It makes grading easy and the written response helpful when conferencing with a student or at least reflecting on their work and skill level.  Perhaps this concept can work for someone else but sharing success can only help others or myself.

8 responses to “Consistency in a Rubric

  1. I am so excited to see your blog is back! I love the way you involve your students in the assessment!

  2. Pingback: Chalk Forms (E&P Part 2) | Art Class With LMJ·

  3. Would you be willing to share what you have written in the “inside cells” for this assessment rubric. I teach middle school and when looking for good rubics…they end up being too simple or too complex…was hoping to get a window into what you are doing because everything else is just SO GREAT!

    • Caro,
      I would be happy to share whatever you’d like – I always appreciate questions and prompts for more posts. I will do a more in depth post about my rubrics asap and email you any resources I can. Thanks for the comment!

    • Caro,

      My newest post breaks down and highlights the specifics of my rubric – at the end of the post is a pdf download of my rubric for a closer look. Hope this helps!

  4. Pingback: Extensive [but easy] Assessment with Rubrics | Art Class With LMJ·

Leave a Reply

